Kent Free Library Library Hours
M-F           9 - 9
Sat.         10 - 6
Sun.        1 - 5 *

312 West Main Street, Kent, Ohio   44240

 

Kent, The Tree City

 

 Phone:  330-673-4414

    Research Databases
Tax Forms 
Federal
State of Ohio

Access is limited to in-library use.
Genealogical research tool which includes census, military, immigration and selected court records. Provides links to some periodicals and newspapers, family and local history sites and more.

Complete automotive repair information on most major manufacturers of domestic and imported vehicles. Approximately 23,000 vehicles covered from 1954 to the present.
The H.W. Wilson Company - New York, Dublin
Wilson’s Biography Reference Bank is a collection of biographical articles from a variety of sources, accessed via WilsonWeb interface. Click the box next to the database name before searching. Search by name, genre, profession, gender, ethnic group, date, place of origin or a combination of any or all of them. 32,000 printable images.
Business Source Premier is the industry?s most used business research database, providing full text for more than 2,300 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed business publications.
EBSCOhost Databases 
Academic Search Premier
Business and Career Databases
Health and Medical Databases
Searchasaurus is EBSCO Publishing's user search experience for users in elementary or middle schools. Complete with erupting volcanoes, dinosaur guide and compass, Searchasaurus is an exciting and easy way for young researchers to experience online searching. It is an animated interface with a dinosaur theme that encourages young researchers to enhance and develop basic search methodologies.





Facts on File Science Online - Facts On File is one of America’s leading publishers of print and online reference materials for the school and library market. Known to librarians worldwide as "the Information Publisher," Facts On File has been publishing quality reference titles since 1941. Our list has grown to more than 1,300 titles and spans a multitude of subject areas such as U.S. history, world history, language and literature, science and technology, careers, social issues, and many others. Our publishing program covers five reading levels: elementary (grades 3-6), middle school (grades 6-8), high school (grades 9-12), college/academic, and general adult.
Grolier Online This collection of resources includes The Encyclopedia Americana, Groliers Multimedia Encyclopedia, The New Book of Popular Science, and the Lands and Peoples set.
HeritageQuest Online
Heritage Quest includes a complete set of U.S. Federal Census images from 1790-1930, over 20,000 family and local histories, over 1.6 million genealogy and local history articles, selected records from the Revolutionary War era Pension & Bounty-Land Warrant application files, and Freedman's Bank (1865-1874) founded to serve African Americans.

Kids Search makes it easy for students to search by keyword or by topic to find the most useful search results. Results can be easily sorted by source type - -magazines, reference books, photos, flags, etc.

Learn-a-Test A resource for test preparation and skill-building practice. Includes practice tests which are based on official exams, an instant score report with detailed answer explanations, and a customized analysis. Subjects include Basic Reading Skills for Adults, Civil Service, College Preparation, Cosmetology, Elementary School Grade 4, EMS, Firefighter, GED, Graduate School Entrance, High School Grades 9-12, Law Enforcement, Middle School Grades 5-8, Military, Postal Services, Real Estate, Teaching, Technical and Career College, and U.S. Citizenship.
US Legal Forms, Inc.
Legal Forms from Thompson Gale provides a wide selection of state-specific (and multi-state) legal forms across the most popular legal areas. Includes real estate contracts, wills, pre-marital agreements, bankruptcy, divorce, landlord tenant and many others. Also included is a comprehensive attorney state directory and a dictionary of legal definitions explained in laymen's language.

Literary Reference Center (LRC) is a highly graphical interface intended to assist high school and undergraduate English and Humanities students with homework and research assignments of a literary nature. Sources include biographies, Literary Criticism, Masterplots, reviews, reference books and periodicals. Searchable by author or title. The site also includes citation help, a literary glossary and a literature timeline.

Morningstar offers three ways to use information on stocks, mutual funds; data reports cover more than 20,000 securities.
NewsBank

 



NewsBank
contains articles covering social, political, economic, environmental, and health events and issues of local and statewide importance to the people of Ohio. Articles are selected from more than 70 daily and weekly Ohio newspapers.


NoveList is a fiction database that provides subject heading access, reviews, annotations, and much more for over 135,000 fiction titles. It also includes other content of interest to fiction readers, such as Author Read-alikes, What We're Reading, Book Discussion Guides, BookTalks, and Annotated Book Lists. For school media specialists and teachers there are Picture Book Extenders and articles on Teaching with Fiction.

NoveList K-8 allows you to discover the fiction titles that are popular with young readers as well as titles to use in your classroom. The NoveList Learning Center provides a complete introduction to the product and shows you how to use NoveList to meet the reading needs of your students. You can access the Learning Center by clicking on its link in the left hand column of your screen.

The Ohio Web Library is an evolving collection of thousands of online publications and research resources. The Ohio Web Library includes: popular magazines, trade publications, scholarly research journals, newspapers from Ohio and the nation, encyclopedias, dictionaries, speeches, poems, plays, maps, satellite images of Ohio, and more.

List of Ohio Web Library Databases


 
Price It is the most comprehensive pricing tool in the world, containing data from eBay, GoAntiques and TIAS. With over 23 million prices realized for Art, Antiques, and Collectibles combined with over 10 million images, Price It provides the ultimate identification, research, and pricing tool.
Reference USA A detailed listing of 10.5 million businesses with the ability to search by company name, type of business, geography, business size, and more. Conduct market research, radius searches for a select location for similar businesses in the area, find news articles for research on businesses for papers and class projects, and find company descriptions.

Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps provides a searchable interface for locating historical Maps of Ohio towns and cities. These maps were digitized from microfilm copies by Chadwyck-Healey, a Bell & Howell Information and Learning company. 

Student Resource Center makes it easy for students to search by topic or keyword to find the most useful search results. Results can be easily sorted by source type-magazines, reference books, photos, flags, etc.
Worldbook - Search Primary source documents, e-books, encyclopedia articles, images and much more in a single integrated interface.

Based on World Book’s award-winning Student Discovery Encyclopedia, World Book Kids is designed to give younger students a rewarding online learning experience.  It includes thousands of easy-to-read articles, engaging images and illustrations, interactive games and activities, and teacher resources.
Old